Only Human…

A few points to consider:

  1. If I’m Press (ie. I received a press badge from the con or a group who gave it to me), my primary responsibility is to that con or group who gave it to me.  I basically owe it to them to work for my badge.
  2. Next is “If I am being paid”.  This has a factor not only with who I shoot but also how soon one gets their photos.  So far, I’ve had 0 at-con paid photoshoots, but just something to consider for those who do.

DSC_1091

Since #1 and #2 infrequently happen, it basically boils down to this: “Do I want to shoot that cosplay?”  I started out as a fan before I became a photographer so there are characters from series that I have a compulsion to shoot like any other fan.  Some of them are also old like Bubblegum Crisis (anyone remember that?  No?  Not even the 2040 TV series?  *sigh*).  Others are complicated to create like N7 Armor from Mass Effect.  Even more have fallen to the wayside never to be revived such as Xenosaga (I know it’s had spiritual successors, but I really wanted a proper sequel).

DSC_0789I know it sounds selfish and I’ll get a lot of accusations of “elitism” or “creepy” (somehow…it’s always stuck to me like mud in my boots).  But think of it this way: Wouldn’t you prefer someone who KNOWS how to shoot your cosplay properly?  Someone who knows how characters react and pose?  I know several cosplayers and audience members complain when a photo shows their favorite character doing something that they wouldn’t do.

Like would you see X-23 from X-Men series posing like a cute, innocent school girl? DSC_0308

I know many people would get on my case if I posed Solid Snake without proper handling of his various weapons.

And could you see Woody from Toy Story act like a complete pervert?  (What?  There was a figure that does that?…..uh, ok?)

It might sound like I’m putting down people, but I’m also putting down myself here.  With all the time it takes to process photos, work a day job, and keep up with friends and family for maybe a few hours every month, it’s too hard for me to keep up with every Video Game, Anime, Comic, TV show, and Movie that is coming out these days.  I’m sorry to say it, but I can’t know every pose of every series.  Hell I have trouble with bed photos because I don’t have a lot of experience with those types of shoots.

I know some of you out there think of me as a good photographer.  Maybe some of you consider me one of the best.  But the sad truth is that I can’t be the best at everything.  Some photographers are better at shooting Idol Anime.  Others are great with doing Pin-Ups.  Me?  I’ll stick to what I know.  Action, Armor, and @$$-kicking….at least for now.

We all started somewhere.

~ by BlizzardTerrak on May 15, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
