SacAnime Winter 2014 – After Action Report

(Sorry for the lack of photos.  While I did do a few shoots, I’m still waiting for approval from them.  That being said, this should highlight how badly the convention went for me….Spoilers~ )

I feel like in this case, the less I say about SacAnime Winter 2015, the better.  Despite knowing that Anime LA 2015 is only a week away, I can’t help but feel like I got swindled by the con.  I know I could have fun during SacAnime as I’ve done so despite two summers of heat and another winter that was fine in my opinion.  I’m not sure if it was due to the lack of planning or some bad luck on my end, but I can’t help but feel like this was on the level of SacAnime back when it was at the Radisson (the previous location).

I’ll get this out of the way: yes, it was my fault I both did not pack enough memory cards (3 out of the 4 I packed were damaged) and that I did not fight hard enough to get my Press Pass.  At the time, I thought I did not need a badge though since the most I would use it for was to wander and shoot.  However, with the majority of the convention center roped off to me (a first), it severely limited my ability to meet other people and to network.  As for the shoots, many of the ones I planned were canceled on my all of a sudden and at once (I had not had this happen since Anime Expo).  The freezing temperatures might have been the death of any chance I would have had to have fun at this convention.

Would I go back to SacAnime?  It’s possible.  The convention is still very cheap for me to attend despite the distance.  So far, this is the first time I’ve had a bad time at the con, though as of yet, I have not had a “great” time at the con either.  They have more famous guests than most conventions so they do have the resources.  And I’ve attended worse conventions (Japan Expo 14, Hyper Con, Anime Expo…).  I will have to say that SacAnime staff need to plan and communicate better not only with those of us who apply for press but also to their own staff in how to handle planning and communications during the convention.  They’ve had several shakedown cruises to work out the kinks.  Now there is just no bloody excuse.

The 6 P’s:  Perfect Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance.

^the is the reason why I overbook at conventions.

Con-Rating:Half Star  (Problems with Staff and Communications…)

Fun Factor:Half Star   (…combined with lots of canceled shoots…)

~ by BlizzardTerrak on January 15, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
