Men of Cosplay Feature + Japan Expo and Sac-Anime 2013

I know I’m late in writing on this site, so here’s an update.

There has been a lot of buzz on the cosplay social media about the new show on SyFy (I still hate that name) called “Heroes of Cosplay”.  My initial feelings of a Reality TV show about Cosplay on the SyFy Network aside, a comment made by their Executive Producer Mark Cornin.  (source:  https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=279836232154825&set=a.170396459765470.38536.170391549765961&type=1&relevant_count=1 )

In case you don’t want to click the link, he was quoted as saying:

 “Male characters tend to be simpler – lots of body armor and weaponry and spandex and capes. They’re usually nowhere near as interesting and intricate, or sexy and cool, as the costumes worn by the women”

Needless to say, there was some public backlash from this statement, but only “some”.  So in response to this statement, I am having a one and a half weeks (10 days) of a feature on my Facebook page called “Honoring the Men of Cosplay”.  This feature will highlight some very talented male cosplayers i have had the pleasure of working with over my career as a cosplay photographer.  It is my way of saying to male cosplayers, past, present, and future, to not give up on their craft, no matter of society and others in the community say that males can’t cosplay.

Because cosplay is supposed to be an open community, no matter the changes going through it right now.

Link to my FB page:
https://www.facebook.com/BlizzardTerrakPhotography

Link to the Men of Cosplay Gallery:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.561759950537934.1073741943.115737278473539&type=3

********************************************************
Japan Expo and Sac-Anime.

Yes, I am attending both conventions.

Unfortunately I don’t know my schedules for either one as of this posting.  I have narrowed down the fact that I will be at both cons from Friday to Sunday evening so at least people will know how long I have to shoot.  Hopefully these mid-size cons will overwrite the sour tastes left by the three biggest cons I have attended this year.

~ by BlizzardTerrak on August 16, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
